Spice Mask Recipe!

Spice Mask Layers

Isn’t that picture awesome? It reminds me of sand art, but it’s all edible! Not that we’re going to be eating it, though it does smell pretty tasty! This is a spice mask I threw together from spices I already had in my pantry. I live with two guys who tend to keep just the basics around, though I will admit that I’m the only one who sees a need for turmeric in the pantry.

SPICE MASK RECIPE

  • 1 Tbsp Chinese Five Spice (or clove and fennel, those were the only two spices I didn’t have already powdered, so I substituted with this)
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp cinnaon
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • 1 or two Tbsp cocoa powder – I forgot to mark down how much I used.

Mix all together in a glass jar with lid, shake well.

To be used twice a week, though it can also be used daily as a wash instead of a mask.

 

To Use:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a lot of things you can mix this powder with to make your mask: water, honey (raw local is best), tea, aloe, yogurt, milk, or a beneficial oil such as coconut, olive, or walnut. I chose to use yogurt and milk today, as I am out of honey. It’s a sad day when I’m out of honey! But I’ll be picking some more up tomorrow.

spice mix in bowl

Put about a tablespoon of the mix into the bowl. My camera’s macro feature makes it look like a lot more than a tablespoon.

yogurt and spice mix

Plop in a spoonful of yogurt. I don’t believe in wimpy yogurt, and insist on only buying Greek yogurt, because it’s REAL yogurt. Since it’s so thick, I had a bit of trouble mixing it. I added a small splash of milk.

mask mixed

Mix until it’s uniform. It looks kind of funny 😛

hide the mask from the cat

Hide the mask from the cat (I use my toaster oven to cat-proof things) to let it warm up a bit (milk and yogurt are cold!). Go check Twitter or whatever.

funny face maskfunny face mask 2

Apply mask to face. DO NOT GET IN YOUR EYES! take some funny pictures while you wait about 30 min. Be prepared for it to burn a little bit – there’s a lot of good stuff going on on your skin right now.

After 30 min, wash off with warm water and a washcloth you don’t mind staining yellow – turmeric is traditionally used as a yellow dye, and can be found coloring a lot of your food! Apply pre-moisturizing treatments if you use any, then MOISTURIZE. This mask really sucks all the moisture from your face.

Fair warning – this is a sort of chemical treatment for your skin, like a peel. Your face will probably turn red.

red

(Side note: Please don’t go out in the sun right after you do any sort of intensive skin treatment. Pretty much any chemical treatment is going to make you more sensitive to UV rays. My house’s lighting sucked and I wanted to show you my beet-red face, but my camera insists on trying to make my skin look better in photos)

As with any skincare product – bought or homemade – do a spot test on your skin first to determine if you have any adverse reactions. Redness is expected for a chemical treatment/peel; rashes, burns, and skin damage are not good.

Leave a Reply

